Maradona’s Hand of God Goal
Diego Maradona is no doubt one of the best soccer players the world has ever seen, and in 1986 he almost single-handedly led Argentina to the World Cup. But one of his most famous goals is also one of his most dubious. Tied 0-0 in the second half of their World Cup quarterfinal match against the English, Maradona flicked a pass to his teammate who kicked it high into the air — an easy grab for the tall English goalie, except that Maradona jumped up and punched the ball into the net with his hand. "I was waiting for my teammates to embrace me, and no one came... I told them, 'Come hug me, or the referee isn't going to allow it." The hand ball was missed by the referees, and is the goal is now referred to as the "Hand of God." To be fair, Maradona followed it four minutes later with what was labeled the "Goal of the Century," when he dribbled more than half the length of field past five opponents and then tapped it in to secure the win.