Though oats are naturally gluten free, studies in the past showed many oats on the market actually had traces of gluten. The reason: They were cross-contaminated from being processed in factories with other gluten-containing grains. So if you buy oats, read the label first. "I stress that people with celiac disease choose grains that are labeled gluten-free," says Thompson.
Credit: Carlos Gawronski / Getty Images
Powered By ZergNet
56 Perfect Things
Tech, Tools, Toys, & the Hottest New Gear
Plus: The Deadly Thrill of BASE Jumping
ON NEWSSTANDS NOW
James Taylor's Life Advice
Sign up to receive the Men’s Journal newsletter and special offers from MJ and its marketing partners.