Driver’s Licenses From Four States Will No Longer Clear Airport Security


Starting in 2016, travelers from four U.S. states will no longer be able to use their driver's licenses to clear airport security and board domestic flights. The new policy is the fourth and final phase of the Real ID Act, passed by Congress in 2005. When it goes into effect, licenses from New York, Louisiana, New Hampshire, Minnesota, and American Samoa will be considered non-compliant. IDs in these states (and territory) do not require proof of citizenship or do not include sufficient security features in the cards.

If you're from one of these states, acceptable IDs include passports and passport cards, permanent resident cards, U.S. military ID, and traveler cards like Global Entry or NEXUS. The TSA will also accept Enhanced Driver's Licenses, which New York and Minnesota issue. The Department of Homeland Security will notify individuals in these states before the act goes into effect, and allow for a three-month forgiveness period in which they will still be allowed to board with their IDs. However, no specific start date in 2016 has been set.

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!