1. Use gluten-free soy sauce
Soy doesn’t have gluten, but Schoenfeld explains that traditional soy sauce “is typically made by fermenting dried, rehydrated soy beans and wheat together”—and that makes it one of the most common gluten sources in Chinese cooking. Even so, plenty of Chinese dishes use neither wheat flour nor soy sauce. And in this day and age, “many manufacturers make a gluten-free soy sauce just using soybeans and excluding flour.”
So whether you’re at RedFarm (where diners can request dishes made using gluten-free soy sauce and “still get a really good result”), dining at your local Chinese joint, or stocking up your kitchen pantry, look out for gluten-free versions of popular Chinese condiments. This, of course, includes soy sauce, but you can also find gluten-free bean and chili pastes, as well.
Be aware: Certain items could be seasoned ahead of time in a soy-based flavoring or tenderizing marinade, so that’s something to also look out for when eating out or shopping at specialty groceries.Back to top