3. Use potato starch and cornstarch instead of flour
For many gluten-free eaters, finding a good thickener for sauces and such can be difficult. Chinese cooking offers the perfect substitute.
“Unlike western cooking where the primary thickening starch is wheat flour (usually in the form of a roux),” Schoenfeld says, “in the Chinese kitchen most sauces are thickened with potato starch or cornstarch,” both of which are gluten-free. Practically speaking, Schoenfeld typically uses potato starch to thicken a sauce, while reserving cornstarch as a coating or part of a marinade.Back to top