Here Are the Surfers Who Qualified for the 2020 Olympics via the WSL Championship Tour

john florence
Expect to see Mr. John Florence repping red, white and blue next year.Courtesy of Miller/SURFER Magazine

This article originally appeared on and was republished with permission.

Heading into Pipe, only four provisional Olympic spots were secured on the men’s side. Kolohe Andino (USA), Jeremy Flores (France), Jordy Smith (South Africa) and Kanoa Igarashi (Japan) had qualified by the end of the MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal last month, which left six slots open for the taking this week.

Brazilian Italo Ferreira Surfs Out of His Skin at Pipeline to Win His Maiden WSL World Title

Read article

One of the most talked-about Olympic qualification battles was the race for the second spot on Team USA — a position that two of the best surfers to have ever lived (2x World Champ John Florence and 47-year-old Kelly Slater) were vying for. After Florence bowed out in the quarterfinals, Slater had the chance to seal the Olympic qualification deal if he clinched the Pipe Masters. But, if you watched any part of Italo’s utter domination yesterday, you know that wasn’t the case for Slater.

In order for the below names to officially qualify for the Olympics, all they have to do is show up to the 2020 World Games next year and compete (even if they perform poorly, they’ll still make their respective teams). They’ll also be joined by Shun Murakami (JPN), Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR), Billy Stairmand (NZL), Frederico Morais (POR), Shino Matsuda (JPN), Anat Lelior (ISR), Bianca Buitendag (RSA), Ella Williams (NZL), Lucca Messinas (PER) and Daniella Rosas (PER) in Tokyo, who have provisionally qualified via the 2019 Pan Am and World Surfing Games.

This Surf Shop Was Ground Zero for One of The Greatest Advancements in Surfboard History

Read article

Stay tuned for more information throughout 2020 as there are still 12 spots left up for grabs.

Men’s WSL Championship Tour 2020 Olympics Qualifiers:

John John Florence (USA)
Kolohe Andino (USA)
Italo Ferreira (Brazil)
Gabriel Medina (Brazil)
Owen Wright (Australia)
Julian Wilson (Australia)
Jeremy Flores (France)
Michel Bourez (France)
Kanoa Igarashi (Japan)
Jordy Smith (South Africa)

Women’s WSL Championship Tour 2020 Olympics Qualifiers:

Carissa Moore (USA)
Caroline Marks (USA)
Stephanie Gilmore (Australia)
Sally Fitzgibbons (Australia)
Tatiana Weston-Webb (Brazil)
Silvana Lima (Brazil)
Johanne Defay (France)
Brisa Hennessy (Costa Rica)

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!