Today’s PSA: Don’t Golf on Frozen Lakes — Just Take the Drop

Here’s a tip for winter golfers: Don't hit your ball off of a frozen water hazard. Don't even try. The video above is all the proof you need. 

Every golfer dreams of pulling off one truly amazing golf shot in their lifetime. For my dad it was a hole in one about six years ago. For me, it was the flawless tee-off drive of my one and only tournament appearance (every subsequent shot was hooked, sliced, or short, as you might suspect, but there weren’t dozens of people watching that one). But sometimes in pursuit of greatness, you risk too much. Case in point, this golfer who tried to hit off of a frozen pond. 

Dustin Johnson consults with a rules official on the fifth green after his ball moved during the final round of the U.S. Open at Oakmont Country Club.

The Rules of Golf: Now Ever So Slightly Less Arcane

Read article

As you can see from the video above, his balance shifted too far onto his back foot. When he did that, his foot began to slip. He managed to get through his swing before totally losing balance though, taking a divot out of the ice before his body came down — and he took the plunge.

To add insult to injury, the penalty for this move is steep.

Gifts 37e9b648 e704 44e9 b739 6e924f72e630

ALSO: 17 Gift Ideas for Golfers

Read article

“Grounding a club in a hazard, that’s one," former pro Andrew Mitakides told us. "Missed stroke, that’s one. When he falls in, the ball moves from its original position, that's two strokes. And then enter the hazard and has to replay out of the hazard, that's one.”

If this were match play, he’d likely have more. “He will have to dry off or change clothes. That would be "slow play" and that’s two strokes.”

The grand total: seven strokes on one shot. But seven strokes and a polar bear dip during a golf match is quite a story though, right?

For access to exclusive gear videos, celebrity interviews, and more, subscribe on YouTube!